LIST AIRCRAFT BY:

FORUMS:

ADVERTISING:

SERVICES:

AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

Welcome to Aviation Forum Sign in | Join | Help
in Search  

A 26 year old story ...

Last post 07-21-2006, 10:47 PM by americanstrategist. 1 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  07-21-2006, 9:39 PM 3502

A 26 year old story ...

Hello,  I'm posting here to share what I understand (so far) about becoming a military aviator and to get some feedback from some of the experienced pilots that post here.

Mainly, I want to know if I can still become a fighter/bomber/recon pilot.  I just turned 26 years old, have a B.S. in Urban and Regional Planning with a minor in Geography.  My college GPA is 3.2.  My health and eyesight are good; 6'0" 170lbs.  I graduated school a few years ago, but am realizing sitting behind a desk is not for me.  I've always wanted to be a pilot, and if its still an option for me through the armed forces, please let me know. 

This is what I understand of the Air Force:  enlist, goto OTS (because I already have a degree and need a commission), then ???.  At what point can I earn a flight slot?  I've read that only a few pilots each year are given a slot from OTS, as the academy and ROTC get first selections...?

HERE IS THE MAIN QUESTION:  As a 26 yr.old with no prior flight experience, is flying a jet in the military an option for me?  If so, what branch/ road to the cockpit do you suggest?

- Jason "Hempdiddy" Hempel
  •  07-21-2006, 10:47 PM 3503 in reply to 3502

Re: A 26 year old story ...

You said something about enlisting and going to OTS.  Remember to make the distinction.  If you want to be an officer do not, repeat, do not enlist.  You just go to OTS.  About the age limits:

USAF: Must meet a selection board before age 28 1/2. Must enter Undergraduate Flying Training (UPT) before age 30.