LIST AIRCRAFT BY:

FORUMS:

ADVERTISING:

SERVICES:

AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

Welcome to Aviation Forum Sign in | Join | Help
in Search  

Guestimation of my chances?

Last post 01-15-2009, 10:35 PM by raimius. 1 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  01-12-2009, 11:40 PM 6354

Guestimation of my chances?

I am currently a freshman in highschool and have decided I would like to go to the AFA, thus this post asking a guestimation from readers of my chances of getting accepted in. To start off:

-My GPA for last grading period was 3.8 My GPA is now a 4.0 unweighted--been working my ass off. (I am in all advance core classes such as English, Math, Science, History, etc. so this GPA is unweighted.) I also am in the middle of my Spanish II class, does the AFA appreciate a second language course heavily (encourage me to take the optional Spanish IV?, as it would lower my GPA because of the difficulty of the class). I attend a very well-educated school so a 3.8 GPA, even with the 1.2 multipliers for advanced courses, puts me nowhere in the top 10% for my class. That is my main fear as of now.

-As for sports, I play on the football team and will through highschool on the varsity team eventually. I also run track (Last year 100M, 200M and 400M relays) and went to district so I have more of an impact in track than in football. While on this topic, as of now, I believe I pass the standard physical test with the 60 minimum pushups per 2 minutes, etc. Now for a question... I play guitar pretty seriously and I see how the AFA might appreciate band players, however, I don't think guitar is the type of band appreciated. Comments on if this should/shouldn't be written into an application or if it probably doesn't matter at all in the AFA?