LIST AIRCRAFT BY:

FORUMS:

ADVERTISING:

SERVICES:

AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

Welcome to Aviation Forum Sign in | Join | Help
in Search  

Becoming a Pilot through the USAF

Last post 10-30-2010, 2:11 PM by milpilot. 2 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  07-01-2009, 1:04 PM 7925

Becoming a Pilot through the USAF

Hello,
    This question is for current/past pilots that went through the USAF.

Q: I'm currently a 3rd year College student majoring in Biology. I plan on joining this year my schools USAF-Detachment program. I would like to know more about what I can expect in Flight training school. Once completing the training what would be a normal day as a pilot. When your not flying what are your duties. Do you pick, or does someone pick for you. Can you continue your education, example get a Ph.D

As a student and aspiring pilot. As important as becoming a pilot is, so is my education. I want to not only become a pilot but also a scientist. How does someone balance both while being in the USAF. What can I expect while serving my 9yrs. What are the cons.

Thank you in advance for taking time to read and answer my questions. I really appreciate it.
  •  07-15-2009, 12:47 AM 8001 in reply to 7925

Re: Becoming a Pilot through the USAF

You are going to go through ROTC, correct?

You need to do well in that.  Various factors (GPA, PT scores, your commander's recommendation, etc) will determine your ranking.  If you rank well, you will have a good chance at getting a pilot training slot.  Once you get a pilot training slot, you can go to UPT (pilot training) after graduation. 

UPT is about a year long.  It starts with ground school, then moves into flying.  Expect a lot of studying and 12 hour work-days.  Your duties, other than flying, will depend on what your squadron needs.  It could be something as simple as running the squadron snack shop, or something more complicated.