LIST AIRCRAFT BY:

FORUMS:

ADVERTISING:

SERVICES:

AVIATION TOP 100 - www.avitop.com Avitop.com

Welcome to Aviation Forum Sign in | Join | Help
in Search  

Requirements to be a Fighter Pilot?

Last post 07-06-2019, 11:45 PM by tamcoctour. 15 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (16 items)   1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  09-30-2002, 7:20 PM 1873

Requirements to be a Fighter Pilot?

Hi

I'm a Freshman in high School And im thinking of being a fighter pilot for the United States Air Force. As I start high school i"m starting to see that its time for me to start finding out i need to do to become what i want. One of the thing i need to find out is what are the educational requirements i must met? What classes or courses must i take? what exams must i take?

If anyone has any answers to any of these questions please go ahead and post them.

Thank you,
    S~ Fireball
  •  09-30-2002, 8:03 PM 1874 in reply to 1873

Re: Requirements to be a Fighter Pilot?

Hi Fireball

Check out the following thread: <post>1848</post>

Run
  •  12-02-2004, 12:03 PM 2701 in reply to 1873

First off, you MUST become a commissioned officer.

Your best bet for that is to get into a service academy.  Talk to your guidance counselor and do all you can to make yourself competitive to get into a service academy.  But to put it into a nutshell, you need to take a heavy math and science load while in High School AND you must get good grades with that load.  GPA of 3.7 or better to be competitive.  It helps to have plenty of extra curricular activities you can point to to prove you are not just an academic geek, but well rounded.  Sports helps, but is not required.  If you are especially athletic and have good grades, you're a shoo in.  The service academies recruit athletes just like any other college.  Joining the Boy Scouts and earning your Eagle rank can also be a BIG plus.  Then start applying to the USAF Academy (USAFA) while in your junior year at High School.